Academic Calendar

FALL 2020

First day to use financial aid for bookstore charges . . . . Mon, Aug 3
Deadline for Degree & Certificate Students to Submit an Application for Fall 2020 . . . . Fri, Aug 7
Convocation. . . . . Mon, Aug 10-13
Deadline for Non-Degree Students to Submit an Application for Fall 2020 . . . . Fri, Aug 14
REGISTRATION FOR FALL . . . . Mon-Sun, April 13-Aug 16
CLASSES BEGIN . . . . Mon, Aug 17
Late Registration ($41.80 late fee required) . . . . Mon, Aug 17
PAYMENT DEADLINE: pay in full, or 5% down + plan, or be disenrolled . . . . Fri, Aug 21
Last Day to Change Full-term Course Schedule (Drops/Adds only) . . . . Fri, Aug 21
Last Day for Final Payment . . . . Fri, Aug 28
Last Day to Change Grade Option from CR-AU/AU-CR . . . . Fri, Aug 28
Last Day to Drop a Full-Term Course with 100% Refund without Record . . . . Fri, Aug 28
Last Day to Receive a Refund for Texts through the Bookstore . . . . Mon, Aug 31
Holiday (Labor Day) . . . . Mon, Sept. 7
Mid-Term Week . . . . Oct 5-9
Fall Break (no classes) . . . . Mon-Tues, Oct 12-13
Mid-Term Grades Due . . . . Wed, Oct 14
Faculty and Staff Development Day (no classes) . . . . Wed, Oct 14
Second 8-week term begins. . . . Mon, Oct 19 (please see 8-week term schedule at right)
REGISTRATION FOR SPRING 2021 BEGINS . . . . Mon, Oct 19

Last Day for Instructors to Initiate a Withdrawal . . . . Fri, Oct 23
Last Day to Withdraw from a Full-Term Course . . . . . Fri, Nov 6
Deadline to Petition to Graduate in Fall 2020. . . . . Fri, Nov 6
Holiday (Veterans Day) No Classes . . . . Wed, Nov. 11
Thanksgiving Break . . . . Wed-Sun , Nov 25-29
Final Exams* . . . . Sat.-Fri, Dec 5-11
*Exam make-up days in case of bad weather . . . . Fri-Sat, Dec 11-12
Last Day of Term . . . . Fri, Dec 11
Final Grades Due . . . . Mon., Dec 14
Winter Break (College Closed) . . . . Sat-Sun, Dec 19-Jan 3, 2021

Fall 2020 8-week term dates

First 8-Week Term
Classes Begin
Mon, Aug 17

Last Day to Drop a Course with 100% Refund without Record
Sun, Aug 23

Last Day to Withdraw from a Course
Sun, Oct 4

Last Day of Term
Sun, Oct 18

Second 8-Week Term
Classes Begin
Mon, Oct 19

Last day to register for the second 8-week term
Mon, Oct 19

Last Day to Drop a Course with 100% Refund without Record
Sun, Oct 25

Last Day to Withdraw from a Course
Sun, Nov 29

SPRING 2021

First day to use financial aid for bookstore charges . . . . . Mon, Jan 4
Deadline for Degree & Certificate Students to Submit Admissions Application for Spring 2021 . . . . . Fri, Jan 8
Convocation . . . . . Mon, Jan 11-13
Deadline for Non-Degree Students to Submit an Admissions Application for Spring 2021 . . . . . Fri, Jan 15
Holiday (Martin Luther King Jr’s Birthday) . . . . . Mon, Jan 18
CLASSES BEGIN. . . . . Tues, Jan 19
PAYMENT DEADLINE pay in full, or 5% down + plan, or be disenrolled . . . Fri, Jan 22
Last Day to Change Full-term Course Schedule (Drops/Adds only) . . . . . Fri, Jan 22
REGISTRATION FOR SPRING 2021 . . . . . Mon, Oct 19 - Fri, Jan 29

Late Registration (one day only, $41.80 late fee required) . . . . . Fri, Jan 29
Last Day for Final Payment . . . . . Fri, Jan 29
Last Day to Drop a Full-Term Course with 100% Refund without record . . . . . Fri, Jan 29
Last Day to Change Grade Option from CR-AU/AU-CR . . . . . Fri, Jan 29
Last Day to Receive a Refund for Text through the Bookstore . . . . . Mon, Feb 1
Curricular Assessment Day . . . . . Fri, Feb 19
Mid-Term Week . . . . . March 8-12
Mid-Term Grades Due . . . . . Tues, March 16
Spring Break . . . . . Mon-Sun, March 15-21
Last Day for Instructors to Initiate a Withdrawal . . . . . Fri, March 26
Deadline to Petition to Graduate in Spring 2021. . . . . Fri, April 2
Holiday (Good Friday) . . . . . April 2
Last Day to Withdraw from a Full-Term Course . . . . . Fri, April 16
REGISTRATION FOR SUMMER AND FALL 2021 Begins. . . . . Mon, April 12
Final Exams* . . . . . Sun-Fri, May 9-14
Commencement Rehearsal. . . . . Thurs, May 13
Last Day of Term . . . . . Fri, May 14
*Exam make-up day in case of bad weather. . . . . Sun, May 16
COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY . . . . . Sat, May 15
Final Grades Due . . . . . Mon, May 17
Deadline to Petition to Graduate in Summer 2021 . . . . . Fri, June 4

SUMMER 2021

Deadline for Degree & Certificate Students to Submit Admissions Application for Summer 2021 . . . . . Fri, May 28
First day to use financial aid for bookstore charges . . . . . Mon, May 31
Deadline for Non-Degree Students to Submit an Admissions Application for Summer 2021 . . . . . Fri, June 4
Deadline to Petition to Graduate in Summer 2021 . . . . . Fri, June 4
CLASSES BEGIN . . . . . Mon, June 7
PAYMENT DEADLINE: pay in full, or 5% + payment plan, or be disenrolled . . . . Fri, June 11                                                                                           
REGISTRATION . . . . . Mon, April 12-Fri, June 11
Last Day to Change Full-term Course Schedule (Drops/Adds only) . . . . . Fri, June 11
Last Day to Change Grade Option from CR-AU/AU-CR . . . . . Fri, June 11
Last Day to Drop a Full-Term Course with 100% Refund without record . . . . . Fri, June 11
Last Day to Receive a Refund for Texts through the Bookstore . . . . . Mon, June 14
Last Day for Final Payment . . . . . Fri, June 18
Holiday (Independence Day) . . . . . Mon, July 5
Last Day to Withdraw from a Full-Term Course . . . . . Fri, July 16
Last Day of Term . . . . . Fri, July 30
Final Grades Due . . . . . Mon, Aug 2
Deadline to Petition to Graduate in Fall 2021 . . . . . Fri, Nov 6

Spring 2021 8-week term dates

First 8-Week Term
Classes Begin
Tues, Jan 19

Last Day to Drop a Course with 100% Refund without Record
Wed, Jan 27

Last Day to Drop a Course with 50% Refund without Record
Wed, Jan 27

Last Day to Withdraw from a Course
Thurs, Feb 4

Last Day of Term
Fri, Mar 19

Second 8-Week Term
Classes Begin
Mon, Mar 22

Last Day to Drop a Course with 100% Refund without Record
Sun, Mar 28

Last Day to Drop a Course with 50% Refund without Record
Sun, April 4

Last Day to Withdraw from a Course
Fri, April 30

Last Day of Term
Fri, May 14

Northern offers over 50 bachelor's, associate and certificate programs in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering & Math); Nursing and Health Sciences; Liberal Arts and Humanities; Arts, Film & Media; Business Administration; Teacher Education and Technical Trades.
Northern New Mexico College is the most affordable 4-year college in the Southwestern US. Choose us for our value, our quality degree and continuing education programs in diverse areas of study, and our experienced faculty. We provide students with unique opportunities for academic, personal, and professional growth, small class sizes, personalized attention, and strong hands-on experiences from day one.
The Northern Foundation remains committed to stimulate leadership, promote equity, and grow resources and philanthropy in the Española Valley and surrounding rural areas. Over the past twenty years, we have granted $1.3 million to support over 1,250 NNMC students.