NNMC Faculty Association Meeting August 12, 2022, 1:00- 3:00 Minutes

In attendance: Joaquin Gallegos, Scott Braley, Melanie Colgan, Ellen Trabka, Robert Beshara, Rhiannon West, Margaret Zak, Teresa Beaty, David Lindblom, Heather Winterer, Ashis Nandy, Johanna Case – Hofmeister, Sushmita Nandy, Rachel Meiklejohn, Simon Vaz, Joan Hodge, Ken Armstrong, Silvana Hernandez Ortiz, Rebecca Hancock, Sneha Chakradhar, David Torres, J.B. Moore

Meeting called to order at 1:08pm.

Joaquin Gallegos

- Welcome to everyone
- Explanation of purpose and procedures of Faculty Senate

Tim Crone

- Union Representative
- Introduced Lindsy Morone
- Union negotiates salaries every year and the entire CBA every three years

Rhiannon West

- Spoke about union successes since 2018
 - o A few highlights...
 - Salary increases for all faculty (2019)
 - Salary matrix adjusted for inflation (2020 / 21)

- 1.5% salary increase for all faculty (2021 / 22)
- Salary matrix updated (2022 / 23)
- Shared websites
 - o How to become a member
 - o NNMC bargaining agreements
 - Facebook
- Next Union Meeting is on September 9th, 2022

Joaquin Gallegos

- Upcoming faculty senate resolution to support Bond C (GO Bond)
 - o NNMC is requesting \$3 million of this bond money for infrastructure
 - Bond will not raise taxes
 - There will be a vote to approve this resolution during the first faculty senate meeting in September
 - Teresa Beaty asked, "Who decides where the money goes?"
- Faculty Senate Committees
 - Sushmita Nandy asked, how many votes does each committee get? Joaquin
 Gallegos stated that every committee gets one vote in the faculty senate.
 - Teresa Beaty announced that the Institutional Review Board needs a chair person.
 - o Participation in two committees is encouraged for tenure
 - Academic Standards Committee (co-chair Sushmita Nandy)

- Hope to start meeting in September
- Last year the committee revised the policy on plagiarism and student appeals
- Educational Policy Committee (chair Rhiannon West)
 - Needs a co-chair
 - Currently trying to finish a policy on academic program and class elimination.
- o General Education Committee (co-chair Joan Hodge)
 - Working to streamline and update the process of course approval
 - Working to revise and update the flexible nine requirements
- o Honors Committee (co-chair Margaret Zak)
 - This committee reviews applications for honorary degrees and recommends recipients
- o Personnel Committee (co-chair Sushmita Nandy)
 - Responsibilities include all issues related to Faculty positions.
 Specifically, it shall review proposed changes in the Faculty
 Handbook, improve the professional development and sabbatical

programs, and provide input to the administration in the development of the Faculty salary matrix.

- o Tenure Committee (co-chair Ashis Nandy)
 - This committee is made up of all tenured faculty
- o Undergraduate Committee (co-chair Joaquin Gallegos)
 - Needs a co-chair
 - Historically meets at 1pm on Fridays
 - Would like representation from each academic department
- o CS Committee (co-chair David Lindblom)
- New Faculty Introductions
 - o Rachel Meiklejohn
 - Johanna Case Hofmeister
 - Sneha Chakradhar
 - Silvana Hernandez Ortiz
- Faculty Senate Meetings
 - o Meetings are the first Friday of the month at 1pm
 - o Everyone is welcome
 - Still debating a meeting mode. A hybrid format of Zoom and in-person will be used for now. A survey may be sent out in the future to determine preference.

Meeting was adjourned at 2:03pm.